Five School of Information students are developing a system to solve one of the biggest challenges of India’s market for household domestic workers, and to help a whole community that isn’t being served.
Two Berkeley School of Information students were awarded the first-place prize this week in the Tech-to-Market Innovation Challenge, competing with other teams from across the Berkeley campus to develop a technology and business strategy to take advantage of the emerging LTE Direct standard.
School of Information faculty and students are presenting their research on human-computer interaction in Toronto this week at the annual CHI conference.
Michael Buckland
The award honors Buckland’s leadership and research in libraries, information retrieval, translingual search, bibliographic and metadata services, the history and theory of documentation, digital libraries, and the representation of cultural heritage institutions.
Nine School of Information students are finalists in the CITRIS Big Ideas competition for the best student ideas using information technology to address a major societal challenge.
An ‘unconference’ for the information community, InfoCamp brought students, alumni, and information professionals to South Hall to network and learn from each other.
Four School of Information master’s students developed an innovative, prize-winning Facebook hack — thanks to the skills they learned in their I School courses.
Robert D. Harlan was the former associate dean and acting dean, and a professor in the School of Library and Information Studies from 1963 to 1993.
Capped by a keynote from Obama adviser John Podesta, a day-long workshop brought together the worlds of government, business, the law, and academia for what assistant professor Deirdre Mulligan called “a frank and honest conversation about our values,” and about how to balance those values with the omnipresent, often invisible collection of data about every aspect of our lives.
Tapan Parikh
Parikh is transforming the world’s poorest areas by designing, evaluating, and deploying appropriate information systems that support sustainable economic development.