Matt Kane

Matthew Kane

Alumni (MIDS 2020)

Focus

MIDS Student Starting in May 2019

Biography

Born and raised in Pottstown, PA (greater Philadelphia area).

Undergraduate degree in Computer Information Systems from Jacksonville University in Jacksonville, FL.

Founded my first software company (Greenshades Software) at age 22.  Greenshades builds tax reporting, HR, Payroll, and compliance software for the middle market (companies with 100-10,000 employees).  Among it's many successes, Greenshades electronically distributes over 4 million W-2s to employees every year.  I served as Co-CEO with my parter until 2019 where I moved into a non operational (Board Member) role.  During my tenure as Co-CEO, we built the business from zero to $17M and 150 employees over 15 years.

While building Greenshades, I went back to school on nights and weekends and recieved my MBA from the Warrington College of Business at the University of Florida in 2006.

Founded a second software company (Welltality) in 2014.  Welltality builds software to help primary care physicians practice preventative medicine on the Medicare population.  I was CEO (while still Co-CEO of Greenshades) for the first 4 years of the company through the start up phase until we could hire a permanent CEO.  I remain a Board Member and owner in this business as well.

I also served as a Board Member for Akerna (NASDAQ:KERN) since 2015, the original seed-to-sale tracking software for the legal cannabis business.  As a Board Member, I was responsible for oversight of the design and launch of the first cannabis specific Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) software product.

Throughout the last 20 years in Jacksonville, FL, I've been an active member of the philanthropic, civic, and political community.  I've served on 8 different non-profit boards over that time, predominantly with organizations that serve children/education, including 11 years on the Board of Jacksonville University.  I currently serve on the boards of Jacksonville University, and STEM2 Hub of NE Florida which I helped found in 2015 (though I still wish it had a better name, it has been such a force for good and was responsible for helping NE FL to be the fastest growing region for children's robotics in the US in 2016).

I currently live in Boulder, CO with my wife Alexis (Nurse Anesthetist) and daughters Sloan (6) and Elle (4).  We spend our summers in Telluride, CO. In my free time I enjoy running, biking, swimming, fly fishing, hiking, skiing, and playing bridge.

Last updated:

October 28, 2021