Erin Stanton

Erin Stanton

MIDS Student

Focus

Formalizing my on-the-job training in big data and data science

Specialization

Data Science

Biography

I'm an analytics and big data professional leveraging a background in computer science,mathematics, and economics to provide data-driven insight and analytical research to global investment managers.

Academic and professional background:  I hold a dual Bachelor's degree in Economics and Computer Science from Lehigh University and have worked in the financial industry for the last 14 years.  I spent the first 3 years of my career at the JPMorgan Private Bank and the last 11 at Virtu ITG in their Portfolio and Trading Analytics group.  I spent my first 6 years at Virtu ITG primarily working as an analyst and then eventually moved up to run the team of analysts in the US which focused on the support of our pre and post-trade products for around 150 US-based investment firms.   In 2014 I moved over to Hong Kong to run our Asian business, supporting clients in Hong Kong, Australia, Japan and China and at the start of 2018 moved back to the US to run our global portfolio and trading analytics coverage organization.  My team is responsible for supporting our 350 asset and investment management clients in their use of ITG Opt (a tax-aware portfolio optimizer), Fair Value (a data product that allows mutual funds to fair value their NAV), pre, real time and post-trade analytics across equity, futures, fixed income and FX.

Much of my existing big data and data science experience has been learned on the job and is quite specific to finance and the stock market.  I'm excited to formalize my training and expand my skill set through the MIDS program.

Other interests beyond data science:

I caught the travel bug while living in Asia and have been fortunate enough to visit 31 different countries to date.  I'd say some of my most favorite trips include trekking through the Himalayas in Bhutan (it's also where my husband and I realized we could survive getting married; if you can trek without a bathroom for 7 days and still like the person you're with you can probably survive marriage), going on safari in South Africa and Botswana and watching kangaroos hop by while exploring vineyards in Australia.  I'm also an avid podcast listener and would love to hear about what you're listening to!

Last updated:

September 27, 2020