May 6, 2013

Pam Samuelson named to AAAS

Pam Samuelson was named this week to the 2013 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The 198 new members announced include some of the world's most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders.

The 2013 class includes neuroscientist and President of Rockefeller University Marc Tessier-Lavigne, educator Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, astronaut and former Senator John Glenn, actor and director Robert De Niro, musicians Bruce Springsteen and Pete Seeger, U.S. Poet Laureate Natasha Trethewey, and operatic soprano Renee Fleming.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

A list of the new members is located at

Last updated:

October 4, 2016