Events Archive

Saturday, May 17, 2014
Campanile Esplanade, 2:00 pm
Honor the class of 2014 with keynote speaker Nicole Wong, student speakers, and presentation of the James R. Chen Awards.
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Special Event
South Hall, 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Graduating master’s students present their intriguing research projects and innovative new information systems. An panel of judges will select one outstanding project from each track for the James R. Chen Award.
Friday, May 9, 2014
Exhibit
110 South Hall, 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
16 final projects by 43 students shed light on topics ranging from BitCoin to bike share, clinical trials to Chinese censorship, the cost of drugs to the cost of drought, and more.
Thursday, May 8, 2014 - Friday, May 9, 2014
Conference
UC Berkeley, 1:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Are you and your organization taking advantage of the opportunities created by the flood of new data? The DataEDGE conference will bring you up to speed on the data revolution.
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Exhibit
202 South Hall, 2:15 pm - 3:30 pm
Exhibition of final projects from the course “Working with Open Data.”
Friday, May 2, 2014
Information Access Seminar
Speakers: Jake Hartnell & Clifford Lynch
107 South Hall, 3:10 pm - 5:00 pm
Friday, April 25, 2014
Information Access Seminar
Speaker: Michael Buckland
107 South Hall, 3:10 pm - 5:00 pm
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Dean's Lecture
Speaker: Arnold Lund
210 South Hall, 4:10 pm - 5:30 pm
The new frontier in user interfaces is a constellation of wearable gadgets, tablets, smart phones, appliances, and more that can communicate with one another autonomously.
Monday, April 21, 2014
Speaker: danah boyd
210 South Hall, 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Youth culture and technology expert danah boyd uncovers some of the major myths regarding teens’ use of social media.
Friday, April 18, 2014
Information Access Seminar
Speaker: Rob Sanderson
107 South Hall, 3:10 pm - 5:00 pm